RSS Feed

Ready, Steady…. Go!

I love to cook. I love the diffusion of the aromas through the air, the sound of the timer on the oven pinging to tell me my food is ready and above all, the licking of the spoon. Simple pleasures are what makes life fantastic, and cooking is something that anyone, old or young and from any walk of life can gain pleasure from. Some of my happiest moments have been sitting round a dinner table with friends or family and catching up, and food is central to this.

But although food can give us joy, it can be stressful and often cause us anxiety. Whether you have emotional problems with food, or haven’t the time to cook after a busy day at work, food can sometimes be another stress that we don’t need. As a girl living in a flatshare I know that we work hard and when we get home the last thing we want to do is try out new recipes. We stick to the food we know, and don’t get the chance to experience new tastes and flavours. Plus, getting into this kind of rut causes you to eat more unhealthily, and as we all know, you get out of your body what you put in.

Discussing this with my friends I have found some common problems. Young Mums haven’t the time to experiment with new dishes, career girls haven’t the money to splash out on all the ingredients they need, and some people just don’t know how to take the ingredients that they have and turn it into something delicious and hassle free. But not being able to cook and enjoy food is a travesty, so this blog aims to take the hard work out of it for you, leaving you able to try out new recipes knowing that guinea pigs have already ironed out all the creases for you. Fantastic!

We aim to try the old favourites, create some new taste sensations and trial some recipes from chef’s books that you always wanted to try out but never did. We will do healthy, we will do yummy and we will try downright decadent all in the name of good food. So sit back and let us take the reins as we make those dishes dirty, one recipe at a time.

5 responses »

  1. Seems like you’ve got a great concept. We look forward to seeing more!

    Reply
  2. Love it! I know this is going to be one of my new favorite blogs :)

    Reply
  3. I agree 100%. I feel bad for these types of people and I am glad you dedicated your site to help them. I am a great cook but I struggle like crazy with making bread. You motivated me to share a simple recipe called “cereal bars” it is out of a Betty Crocker cook book back in the 50′s So I modernized it and call them power bars. I will try to post it in the next few days.

    Reply
  4. Welcome to the world of blogging…Congratulations! Thanks for visiting and liking one of my post.

    Warm wishes,

    Carmella

    Reply
  5. Anybody who wants to cook more often has to ask themselves, “what are my obstacles?” Because as you said, “not being able to cook and enjoy good food is a travesty.”
    Any obstacle can be overcome if the desire to do so is strong enough. I know your new endevor will help others move past their own personal obstacles, whatever they may be.
    Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

