RSS Feed

Souper Greens – Our Attempt

I am one of those girls who doesn’t manage money very well. I used to try and allocate my food budget out per week but it didn’t work, so now I do a big shop at the start of the month and then cook and freeze accordingly. At this time of year I am a massive fan of soup, because I tend to get sick and I need all the vitamins and minerals I can get.

So I buy those Covent Garden soups when they are on offer. They are a bit hit and miss but I find that they are often good and filling with a bread roll, and relatively healthy when you have dreams of booking a holiday at the forefront of your mind and don’t want to be mistaken for a floundering whale in the shallow water.

Last week I bought one of their winter ones called ‘Souper Greens’ on the basis that I thought it would be really healthy and the calorie count was pretty low. It was delicious, but at £2 for a small carton I thought that I would have a bash at trying it out myself.

The playlist when I cooked it: Bruno Mars, Do Wops and Hooligans

The shopping list:

500g bag peas. £0.70

500g bag brussel sprouts £0.65

500g bag broccoli. £0.65

Packet of fresh spinach. £1.50

Small jar of basil pesto. £1.19

1 onion. £0.28

1 stick of celery £0.35

1kg carrots £0.62

2 cloves garlic – £0.30 per bulb.

Pot cream (284ml) I use a cream substitute called Elmlea.£0.55

Purse impact: When we make this a serving is a good bowlful, and the above quantities usually produces eight servings. This will differ depending on how thick you like your soup, but we make it around £0.85 per serving. If you want to make some additions or serve with chorizo and crème fraiche it will cost a little more.

The sentence: this one takes about forty minutes with chopping, simmering, whizzing and licking the spoon all taken into consideration!

The tools:

Great big soup pan.

Food processor.

The drill:

Heat some oil in a large soup pan or stock pot (you know, the ones with two little handles on the side and a lid rather than one with a long handle) and gently fry the onion and garlic together. Don’t worry too much about chopping them into regular bits as these will boil down anyway, and who wants to waste time measuring onions? If you are particularly sensitive then you might want to put your swimming goggles on for this to avoid disruption to mascara. Also, if you are cooking this for a date, you should probably lose one of the cloves of garlic. Especially if your date is a vampire from Twilight (we can only dream).

Once the onion has softened, chop the celery and carrot and soften them too. I don’t like celery, but honestly you can’t taste it when it’s in there and it provides a great base. The fancy pants name for this basis is a mirepoix, and it’s a great start to any recipe. Or so my grandfather says!

While the vegetables are softening, boil the kettle and make some stock. I use one called bouillon as mu housemate has a wheat intolerance, but any old stock will do. If you are a food snob you could make it, but I prefer the cubes!

Add the stock to the pan and keep boiling, and add all the veg. We use frozen vegetables as in such a busy household there is nothing worse than buying fresh veg with the intention of eating it and then finding it mouldy in the salad crisper a month later. Vegetable casualties happen, and for this reason, frozen wins me over. Whichever you prefer is fine.

Add a good sprinkle of basil, mint, parsley and any other green looking dried herbs that you have around. Whatever tickles your pickle! Simmer for twenty minutes and then take a bowlful of the veg out of the pan and put to one side.

Stir in the jar of basil pesto and a small carton of single cream. Yum! Using a food processor, whizz the vegetables up until you have a smooth mix; I like my soup to be quite thick but if you prefer a thinner mis then by all means add some more stock. When you are happy with the consistency, return the veg that you have put aside to the mix.

Serve with a dash of crème fraiche if you wish, and I often add a few slices of chopped up chorizo to the top to make it look a little fancier!

Twists:

When my housemate cooks this she adds a teaspoon of Tabasco, a teaspoon of cayenne pepper and a teaspoon of paprika. She also shakes some chilli flakes in there; the amount depends on how quickly I catch and stop her. If you like your food with a bit of a kick then this adds a great twist.

Next time I promise to take pictures!

11 responses »

  1. Good idea! I’m loving the Chipotle Chili Chicken soup they do if you’re looking for another one to try. : )

    Reply
  2. I LOVE that you share your cooking playlist! Recipe looks yummy, too. :)

    Reply
  3. Your Souper Green soup sounds wonderful. I think it is worth all that time it took to chop the veggies. And the cost – What a great pocket book pleaser!!!. Make a double batch and freeze some for later. I am big on making larger meals so I can freeze some. It just saves a ton of time later. Sincerely, Emily

    Reply
  4. I love having a playlist while cooking. Mine’s more the background noise of the news channel but music definitely would make this a lot more interesting. I also love the idea of giving the prices of the ingredients with the recipe… and the recipe itself. I’m a dedicated follower now!

    Reply
  5. Keep it up! You should check out http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/ I follow him and he seems along your same lines, so you may mutually benefit each other! xoxo

    Reply
  6. When I first got to Italy and did my veggie shopping at the market, I was surprised to find that at the end of our your selecting, bagging and weighing they would always ask “odori?” Literally translated it means odors – or the base (which your grandfather says are always a good thing) of almost any dish here in Italy and it includes a sm onion, a piece of celery, a carrot and some parsley.
    http://www.pierotucci.wordpress.com

    Reply
  7. Can I just say that I love that you told us what you were listening to while cooking. I am always listening to music while I cook, but it’s never occurred to me to share it. Great idea! Helps set the mood. ;)

    Reply
  8. Sounds absolutely scrummy! I like to make a really huge pot of soup every couple of weeks or so, and freeze it in portions for a quick warming and healthy snack.

    Reply
  9. Scrounge greens…I like it. Living on the Creek we live more by the moment so I can’t shop for an entire month at once but it is a good idea if you can stick to it. Down here we love pot likker. Add chopped kale, cabbage, mustard, collard, or turnip greens (or any combination thereof) to a large stockpot. Don’t worry it will cook down. Throw some chopped onion and ham (or some body part of smoked/cured pork) to the mix. Stir in about 1 quart of stock (veggie, chicken, or pork) and let it simmer away for an hour or so. Like your mate we like things spicy. To be more democratic in seasonings, try using hot sauce just at service. Louisiana sauce is the bomb. Don’t drain the liquid – it is the best part. Love your postings!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

